The Belen Harvey House opened in 1910.
It served Santa Fe Railroad passengers until 1939. It re-opened during World War II to feed troop trains, and then became the Santa Fe Reading Room (a break room and dormitory for railroad employees) until 1980.
Saved from demolition and restored by the citizens of Belen, it reopened as a museum in 1985. The building looks much the same as it once did, but now there are permanent historical exhibits in the formal dining room and upstairs where the Harvey Girls' dormitory rooms were. Temporary exhibits are displayed where the lunchroom and kitchen once were.
Managed by the Belen Public Library, there is a branch library at the museum that specializes in local, regional and railroad history. The old wood-lined newsstand is now the museum's store.
Many visitors like to sit in the shade and watch trains go by a few feet away. Others come for the annual Festival of Trees during the Christmas season, which has now been expanded to include the historic Bugg Lights, once a holiday light display tradition in Albuquerque.
We are proud to be the only remaining Harvey House museum in New Mexico! Our best exhibit is our beautiful building that continues to draw visitors from all over the world. Immerse yourself in the history of the Southwest and Fred Harvey Company- visit today!
Questions? Call us at 505-861-0581.